A recent update for the Mac version of Adobe’s Creative Cloud software suite has been found to contain a bug that results in user files being erased without permission or warning. The issue is that after users install the 3.5.0.206 update and afterward sign into Creative Cloud, the contents from the first alphabetically listed folder in the root directory are erased. Users that haven’t yet downloaded this update from Adobe can breathe a sigh of relief, as the organization has acknowledged the issue and stopped releasing the update.

Adobe's Bug Deletes User Data

The bug appears to have been discovered to a part by Backblaze, a data backup service, as the organization says its users have been affected more than most. The reason was because the Backblaze service depends on a hidden root folder called “.bzvol,” which stores important user data.

That dot at the beginning of their folder name means it was almost always listed first alphabetically in the root directory. That means practically every Backblaze user that downloaded the Creative Cloud update was hit by the bug. Backblaze shared a video, below, that details the issue.

Also troubling is that numerous Mac users without Backblaze can still be severely affected. Rather than Backblaze’s hidden folder, the “.DocumentRevisions-V100” folder will be first in the root directory. This file is used by the Mac’s autosave and version history features to store critical data, which can cause system errors if erased.

Adobe says they are presently investigating the bug, however don’t have a timeframe for when the issue will be fixed and the update re-released. Creative Cloud users are advised not to download or install the version 3.5.0.206 update. For those who already have, don’t sign in if possible, while those that need access to the software can make a fake folder in the root directory to keep away from issues. Have the name begin with “.a” to ensure it seems first alphabetically.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here